A busy summer

As a long summer turns to autumn, I’m just settling back down at my desk after a busy few months. At the start of August, I spent a week in Oxford, running teacher training workshops as part of the ELT Summer Seminar series at Exeter College. I met a fantastic group of teachers from all over the world (just a handful below) and led workshops on Advanced Writing Skills for Teachers and Students.

ELTSS from Taghrid

I also used the opportunity for a bit of my own CPD; you can read about my attempts to use screencast software to give feedback on writing on my blog.

Then at the end of August, I had a week in Saudi Arabia, delivering training sessions to English teachers at King Saud University. It was a fascinating insight into a very different place and culture; a few reflections about it on the blog.

Because of those two commitments, I wasn’t able to teach on the EAP pre-sessional course at Bristol University as I do most summers. I did though manage to be involved doing some cover teaching; stepping in for the odd day here and there for colleagues who were absent. It was an interesting way to teach, getting to meet lots of different classes and having to think on my feet, adapting quickly to their levels and characters. It also meant that I still got to catch up with all my lovely teaching colleagues.

Then after a very welcome week away from my desk relaxing at the seaside, my final trip of the summer was for an EAP event in a wonderfully sunny Zurich at the end of September; again meeting lots of interesting teachers and finding out about yet another EAP market.

P1050208

Leave a Reply

